So, I skipped church this morning and slept in and sleep is not so bad…and neither is change

In case I haven’t told you before, I suck at sleeping. I really do. I stay up and think and worry and plan and think some more. My body was overdue for rest, but I hate that I missed church in order to catch up. I ended up going to 2 church functions later, so I felt a bit redeemed for my slumber faux pas. Our church is really in a lot of trouble and is in danger of closing, but we have an action plan, so I pray the 5 year mark that is projected for our closing is a celebration instead. If, and only if people are willing to do what is recommended and let go of their desires then perhaps it will all be okay.

It’s sad to me that our priorities as a country or so out-of-order. I mean I stayed up late going to the gym last night knowing I had church, so I know that I am not holier than thou or anything. I understand why some of the traditional churches like mine are failing, and it is for failure to embrace change. I know that change is scary. I don’t like it to some degree. But it is more of an issue in my personal life regarding not wanting to change than it is at church or work. But there are so many people who care so much about doing things the same way even if the way things are done are not achieving positive results.

For instance, with my weight loss. I eat right 99.9 percent of the time. Five meals a day, 100 oz of water, tons of kale and other veggies, nothing processed, organic or kosher meats, but I don’t sleep enough. So, that perhaps could be why I am not losing more weight. I actually felt more tired after sleeping in, but maybe it is because I am so sleep deficient. My point is, that change is hard to embrace, even when it is what we need the most. Getting rid of guilt and worry and having more faith is linked to every area in our life. School, work, church, habits, etc. It is amazing to me that 7.5 million people have “left religion” since 2012, but God and our faith in Him is related to everything that we do.

I think that the problem lies in human pride and the fact that so many people now are gods unto themselves. Why worship a higher power if you think that you know all and that everything that has happened in your life is solely because of your decisions? That seems to be what a lot of the anti-religion problem stems from. People either don’t want to be held accountable for the cruddy lives they lead or are too narcissistic to think that there is any entity outside of themselves to share or admit their issues.

Anyway, I am losing that much-needed sleep and it is obviously one of my big problems. So I will be you all adieu. Good night and I will catch you on the flip side:)

Simply~

Dee

One thought on “So, I skipped church this morning and slept in and sleep is not so bad…and neither is change

  1. There are definitely a ton of “tips” you can find online regarding sleep, whether or not they actually work – I don’t know. So I won’t go into all there here but will say that what helps me if I have something on my mind when I’m trying to sleep is to write it down (keep a paper/pen by bed or use a cell phone to write it down) – then I know that I don’t have to worry about it at that time but I have it written down to think about it later. It allows me to put it out of mind knowing that it isn’t forgotten and it will get taken care of later. I also think waking up at the same time each morning seems to help me, too, even on the weekends.

    Like

Leave a Reply

