So, sometimes writing for writing’s sake is enough…

Sometimes I don’t want to blog. I want to, but I feel that I have nothing significant to share, or the post may not be insightful to someone or it may not touch someone. Sometimes I read a blog later and think: Wow, that was some good writing and other times I wonder why I had the nerve to put that out there so that others could read it because it was mere drivel.

But what I have realized as someone has been writing in journals and diaries and notebooks since 4th grade that just plain old writing on a regular basis, just to get words down and out of my mind is what is important. It’s almost like I am Dumbledore and I need to release the information so that I can clear my brain and make room for more thoughts. Or, that the more that I get in the habit of writing, the more that it will become more of my daily life and the better my writing will get.

I have always wanted to write in some capacity. Be it as part of a job description an online magazine, back in the day for a newspaper, or even technical writing. The fact that I can write well is the reason that I made A’s in my Master’s program. Sometimes, I would be behind on my reading, but could still find a way to bs my way through an assignment because I could put pen to paper with no issue.

But, I haven’t truly pursued my dream as I had hoped to before becoming a mom. At one time, I was all about getting a poetry book published and still remember the name. I still have the children’s book in my head and wish I would have jumped on it back in 2006 because it would have really been relevant then and could still work now.

So, even though I have put those things on a very long back burner, blogging and even writing privately in my comfy chair into a writing prompt book is still writing. Hopefully, I will get the courage and make the time to try again to be published as I did in the early 2000’s. But until then, I will be thankful for the gift of WordPress and for the blessing of having people read my good, mediocre and even sometimes not blog worthy writing.

Have a good night and keep on writing!

Simply~

Dee

Leave a Reply

