So, I have mentioned my obsession for decluttering…

I am not sure if I have truly gone into detail about how much pleasure I derive from clearing things out. I have mentioned it, but probably not the why behind it. I constantly have a grocery bag hanging on a doorknob or sitting in my closet filled with things to donate. Right now I have ABC magnets, an unopened set of knives, and a big red hairbow. There are lots of reasons why tidying up is a good thing, but for me it is a necessity.

I moved 8 times from 2001 until 2013. Seven of those times were from 2001 until 2008. Though three of the times were all in the same town, it was still a move. After that first big move in 2001 from a house into an apartment, I learned how much stuff I had and did not need. I was honestly embarrassed as to how much I amassed in my young life. It took 7 carloads to carry just my clothes and shoes! Needless to say, every move I have gotten rid of more and more.

The last 2 times I moved, I had a child, so once again I collected a lot of things because kids have so much! It was hard to get rid of her items when she was a pre-schooler, or even 3 years ago. So though I have given away quite a bit of toys and books and clothes on a regular basis over the last few years, I did not really do a thorough job of it.

Fast forward to 2016, I find myself wanting to look in every nook and cranny to see what I can rid myself of. I guess I never want to have to move so much mess ever again. I also have this dream to move out of this neighborhood this year, a dream that may not happen, but I am going to do what I can to make possible. But the biggest reason is to live for today and not so much in the past.

I live in a great area, 15 miles from the city center, walking distance to the mall and lots of stores and activities. But, my ‘hood has changed and though it is still nice, I have outgrown it. A lot. I feel the same way about material things.I want a fresh start. Even if we do stay here the rest of this year, ridding oneself of things can almost feel the same as living in a new space. It can also give a feeling of promise towards the future and new memories and experiences.

Most of the pieces of furniture and pictures and dishes and everything that we use were not around when my husband lived with us. Purging things from the past can really help to let go of all of the negative emotions and situations that occurred when owning the items. I look around and see nothing but positive memories and I am happy in my space, even though I would love to move to another one. I like what I see when I sit on my sofa and I feel happy and comfortable in my digs in a way that I have not for years and it feels good!

Though I have baby clothes and scrap books which are truly important and mean more to me than a brick of gold, outside of those cherished memory items, the rest of what I own are just trivial to me. Realizing that has shown me the true meaning of the lovely word simplicity.

simply~

Dee

One thought on “So, I have mentioned my obsession for decluttering…

Leave a Reply

