So, I kind of detest those that call the shots…

So, you know how it feels to be the one who fetches the coffee? Or the person who is the designated minutes taker at the meeting? Or the one who has the not so glamorous job of fixing the printer should it ever act up. We have all had to do it. Especially, when we were younger or at our first job. But the problem is, I am not younger or at my first job. I am at my 100th job. I am an independent contractor of sorts, so I have had quite a few jobs over the last 14 years. Some domestic (house cleaning, nanny, pet sitting), some have been general admin, while others are more digitally based (social media, web content, etc.).

So, right now I am doing all 3 of those things. The domestic one is the one that can really be a hit to the ego or self esteem. I am overly qualified as a nanny and I am overly educated, but I do love kids and bond well with them. But the parents can be downright demeaning sometimes. I have worked for probably 15 families since 2003. I still have great relationships with some of them. But some of them, just wow. It is difficult to be a mature and intelligent adult and to be handled as an incompetent being that the employers could never relate to.

Do you know why some of the people can’t relate? It is because they just aren’t good people. They can’t put themselves in other people’s shoes, nor would they bother to imagine. They probably wonder wonder why people that are intelligent like I am aren’t ‘doing more with their lives’. They have no clue how much I and many other people have going on  in their lives. For me, it is not just professionally, but as a single parent, and in my awesome relationship with my guy and being the mom to a busy little actress. I have a full and amazing life, but they are traditional people and they will just never understand someone like me.

Now it may sound like I am judging those that for take traditional path. Of course I am not, because my mom retired from a state job, most of my family did as a matter of fact. Also, my guy has a 9 to 5 where he kicks butt and takes names, thank you very much!:) And, the traditional path regularly pays the bills. But I am tired of being judged. For the most part I don’t really care. But some days when these types act a lot less than stellar and try to take advantage of my kindness, I know that they don’t truly respect me. Then it hits home that I need to do work that will challenge me mentally and make me feel that I am doing something worthwhile. Something that is more respected by others.

When I was a nanny in the past, when my kid was a wee one, I did feel like what I did was important. But now that she is older and I work with older (entitled) kids, I have come to understand that I don’t value what I do just like the people I work for may not see my true value. I am just not talking about the current family, I just mean people that hire “domestics” in general. Because many of them cannot relate, they don’t always act in the kindest and considerate manner. I still do a good job, but my heart just isn’t in it in the same way anymore. And I know that I should not care what other people think or how they view me, but unfortunately sometimes I do.

Many people have stories as to why they do certain jobs. Some blue collar workers really like manual labor and have natural dexterity when it comes to car repair or building things. Then there are blue collar workers that do the trade that they do because the last 3 generations did the same or maybe because the education that they have obtained can only get them a blue collar job. Some white collar people do the jobs that they do because they are driven by money, or it is what their family expected them to do, or they genuinely enjoy law or medicine, or finance.

My point in all of this, is that many people would feel so much more fulfilled in whatever they do if they were treated with more respect. If people at the top of the ladder (or those who think they are) could just step down a couple of notches and consider those that are working for them or providing a service. The world would be a terrible place without these employees. Everyone can’t be a leader or in charge of everything and some people just don’t want to be the boss, regardless of how bright they are.

As bossy as I can be, at least according to my sweetheart, I have gotten to the point in life where I want to have autonomy in my work and do things behind the scenes. Which means I am willing to perform roles that may not carry authority per se, but I still get to call the shots in a sense. I don’t have to directly answer to someone all of the time, nor be tied to a desk for a set number of hours. I am perfectly content working for someone most of the time, but I want to feel valued by them and definitely give me the respect that I give them.

But to be honest with you, respect these days from one person to another happens less and less. So I can either like my laid back and unbuttoned jobs I am doing, or work for myself. My only two options right? Or perhaps, I will become independently wealthy overnight and no one will have the opportunity to disrespect me or tell me what to do ever again. Yeah, yeah. I will keep on dreamin’. But I am hoping for that third option with all of my might!:) But at least I call the shots at home. Kind of…

Simply~

Dee

*image by statelines
Leave a Reply

